Saturday, April 11, 2020

Should I get a new car?

Shawn Lelis: Keep you car. Repairs and regular maintenance are a fact of car ownership. Even new cars break down and need tires and brakes occasionally. There is no way possible you would ever spend more on maintenance than you would on payments for a new car. Do the math, it's simple. Your VW is paid for, zero car payments. Even if the car had major repairs three times a year every year for the next 5 years, (which is highly doubtful) and each time those repairs cost you $1500, that's a total of $4500 a year for maintenance. ($4500x5 = $22,500) Worst case scenario. Nobody spends $375 as month on car maintenance. If you buy a new car you'll pay $450 a month to drive it. That's $5400 a year ($5400x5 = $27,000)At the end of 5 years your have spent $4500 more to drive a new car and the new car would be worth about 20% of what you paid for it 5 years before. Depreciation on a new car is terrible.The VW would have realized most of it's depreciation in the first 5 years of! ownership (while you were making payments), not the second five. Having maintained it well it would retain most of it's value and you would also have almost $5000 extra in the bank. And if those major repairs were never needed you'd save yourself several thousands of dollars more in addition to the money you've already saved. Driving an older car and maintaining it is always the best choice....Show more

Bruno Galasso: As far as I know, whoever "hits" has the liability or is "at fault". In other words, insurance companies and law enforcements viewpoint is, "If you are following all the rules of the road and safety, there is never any reason to hit anything." Now, if there was ice on the road, that might atleast make things lean more in your favor, but I think you have to have a photo taken that day of the stretch of road you slid on. That's why they say you should always have atleast a disposable camera in your car to take a photo of an accident and accident scene on ! the day of the accident, along with a cell phone, your insuran! ce information, driver's license and registration. Hopefully you have car insurance that will pay even if it is your fault, or if not, a lot of friends and family that will help you in this time of crisis. There's a lot of other factors to take into account: was either of the drivers driving while impaired, or in a rush, did either leave the scene of the accident before law enforecement arrived, what kind of vehicles were involved, did both have car insurance-dl license-registration-etc... So hopefully, maybe there's other factors that are in your favor here. In either case, it's a wake-up call to always drive safely and defensively and keep as much space between you and other moving vehicles or objects as possible, have a seat belt on, and don't have any distractions like listening to the radio, eating, drinking, talking on a cell phone, etc... I know all this because I've been driving for years now, and have only been in a few accidents. In every accident except one, some! one hit me and for some reason none of them even had a driver's license!!!! In the accident where I hit someone, I rear ended someone, just like you did. So since I "hit", it was my fault, even though the car in front of me stopped short and really fast, not giving me any time to stop. The only thing that saved me was that the car I hit left the scene of the accident, and, from what I understand, it was some kind of insurance scam on the part of the other driver....Show more

Everette Rovinsky: It is REALLY exciting to get your first car! Not only because it's your own car, but because YOU bought it. But you are spending a lot of money on this car. This car means a lot to you, but you have to think logically whether it's worth it to spend so much money and having very little space for you child and stroller, etc. I think you should get a new car. It's your best bet! Unfortunately, this economy is in a real mess. What I suggest is to get a CERTIFIED used car. Certified ! used cars go through extensive testing to make sure they're 100% reliab! le. Plus they come with longer warranties. Getting a certified used car is MUCH cheaper than buying a new car. Getting a NEW car is good, but much pricier....Show more

Kip Ockenfels: I am a car enthusiast and I know how you feel when you get a car you truly love. But what it all comes down to is the car is an appliance - it moves you and your passengers to where they need to be. If the car you are in can not do that, then something isn't right.You can still get a car without payments that will perform the necessary tasks - but it will involve selling your VW bug and getting something with 4 doors. It doesnt need to be an econo-box, but it will likely not be your dream car either. Summer is coming so the convertible should sell at a premium this time of year.With the money you make from the VW sale you should be able to buy a reliable used Camry/Accrd/Legacy/Fusion. You'll find the space is much greater - the reliability will be incredible - and you'll hopefully never ! "Look back"...Show more

Zelma Casebier: Here is my honest opinion. VW is NOT reliable period. The most reliable german car are AUDI and BMW. If you want reliability, go with japanese.(toyota, honda, nissan). If you want performance, handling. go with German.(Audi, BMW, VW). Since you have a child, you don't need performance nor handling? Right? What you need is a reliable car that won't let you down or get stuck in the middle of a highway with your child. Your VW is reliable now because is pretty new but down the road, you will see the problem. Besides, you need a bigger car for stroller and car seats. And wait till they get bigger, the toddler seats is huge. What if you decided to go away for a few days...You need room...I would suggest at least get a Honda Accord or Toyota Camry for sedan and Subaru Forester or Subaru Legacy for station wagon. Good Luck.....Show more

Alvaro Oare: 1

Ninfa Aronica: if i were you i would first look around for a used car cau! se some of the older cars have less proplemes and are easy to fix

Noah Deni: 5 K a year for repairs WTF? maybe he wants you to get a new car...but 800 a month? never...ever....not me....how many miles? what are the problems? if it has 125K or more its gona need struts 800 dollars...brake rotors..450 dollars...maybe power steering pump...water pump...starter...alternator,,,tranny [if you never changed fluid/or clutch] hay maybe BF isnt so far off......but a new car will raise insurance rates..[check before u buy]

Joni Ziak: It's a no brainer.Can't carry stuff you need for the baby.You claim it hasn't stranded you but don't have confidence it will even start today? Been told it's no longer reliable.You're spending more on repairs than a car payment. You're spending more on repairs than the car's worth.How you going to carry 2 kids if it isn't adequate for one?You're just throwing money down a black hole.Replace the car. If you "love" the Bug so much, get a new one..even though you state it's not adequate for your needs....S! how more

No comments:

Post a Comment